Are you currently searching for a reputable DUI lawyer in Kansas City? Perhaps you were arrested recently and you know that you need legal representation. Many people that try to represent themselves are often not able to get the lowest possible sentencing which will include potential time in jail and also a monetary fine. To handle this properly, you will need to locate a Kansas City DUI lawyer that is competent and also affordable. Here is a little bit of information about Missouri drunk driving laws, information that you should know the next time that you are deciding to get in a car to drive to believe that you are drunk.
Current Missouri Drunk Driving Laws And Penalties
The laws regarding drunk driving in Missouri are very straightforward. There are mandatory penalties that you will face if you are arrested driving under the influence. Your first offense could be up to six months in the local jail, and you may be fined up to $500. Your license will be suspended for 30 days, and you may also be required to put an ignition interlock device, something that could potentially save your life. These small devices are connected to your vehicles ignition system and the car or truck will only start after you give a breath sample. If it is determined that you are over the legal limit, the vehicle will not start, potentially preventing an accident from occurring. Second time offense penalties include up to a year in jail, up to $1000 in fines and having your license suspended for one year. The third offense could be up to four years in jail, up to a $5000 fine, and a suspension of your license for an entire decade.
What Are The BAC Limits In Missouri?
If you are under the age of 21, BAC levels should be below .02%. If you are older than 21, your blood alcohol content level cannot exceed .08%. The commercial levels are right in the middle, at .04%, and by using a breathalyzer you should be able to accurately determine what your BAC level actually is. These are devices that you should bring with you if you do drink or party quite a bit, and should always be used before you get into a vehicle to drive.
Why You Should Obtain A DUI Lawyer?
These lawyers are able to plead your case in such a way that they may be able to minimize your jail time, fines and penalties that the judge may hand down, and may also prevent a license suspension for the full recommended time. In essence, they are negotiators that can present your situation to the judge so that they will potentially lessen your sentence to some degree. Regardless of whether this is your first, second or third offense, it is always recommended that you have legal counsel up some type. You need to find a DUI lawyer that has a track record for consistency and competency in Kansas City, allowing you to have the best possible chance of retaining your license, paying less in penalties, and may also prevent the necessity of installing an ignition interlock device.
You can find a competent Kansas City DUI lawyer by searching online. You may also have a friend that can recommend one to you that was able to help them out, or you can simply schedule appointments with the ones that you find in the Yellow Pages. Regardless of how you find them, you need to narrow down your choice to a competent attorney that can represent you as soon as possible. It will be the best money that you overspend in regard to your drinking habit as these professionals can help you reduce every aspect of your sentencing by the local judge.
The post What’s The Legal BAC To Be Legally Drunk Driving In Missouri? appeared first on Stinger Law.